New Parliament Honors National Symbols With Increased Capacity, Safety, Better Tech — Top Features

The second day of the Special Session of Parliament, scheduled for Tuesday, will witness the move to the new state-of-the-art building on the occasion of Ganesh Chaturthi. Convened by Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi, the five-day special session of Parliament began on Monday and will run till September 22. The new Parliament building is an impressive triangular edifice spanning approximately 65,000 square meters in contrast to its predecessor, which occupied a more modest 24,281.16 square meters.

New Parliament Building — Top Features

  • One of the most notable features of the new Parliament building is its expanded seating capacity. In the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of India’s Parliament, seating has increased from 250 to an impressive 384, allowing for a more comprehensive representation of the country’s diverse voices. Similarly, the Lok Sabha, the lower house, now boasts an expanded seating capacity of 888, up from its previous 550.
  • In the event of a joint session, the Lok Sabha The Sabha chamber can accommodate a staggering 1,272 members. The remaining four floors of the building house ministerial offices and committee rooms, designed with a thematic approach. The interior pays homage to three national symbols: the lotus, representing purity and enlightenment; the peacock, the national bird of India; and the banyan tree, a symbol of longevity and immortality.
    Photo Source: PTI
  • The Rajya Sabha chamber is inspired by the national flower, the lotus, while the Lok Sabha chamber showcases a captivating peacock theme. This blend of architecture and national symbolism creates an ambiance that resonates with India’s rich cultural heritage. An open courtyard, graced by a majestic Banyan tree design, the national tree of India, adds to the building’s ethnic charm.
    Photo Source: PTI
  • One of the most prominent nods to Indian tradition is the inclusion of the Sengol, though it became a point of contention between the ruling NDA and the Opposition parties on whether or not it symbolizes the transfer of power from the British to Indians, marking a pivotal moment in India’s history.
  • < li>Beyond its aesthetics, the new Parliament building prioritizes infrastructure safety. Designed to withstand seismic activity in Delhi, which falls under Seismic Zone-IV, it adheres to the parameters of Seismic Zone-V, ensuring the well-being of lawmakers and visitors alike.

    Safety first!

    The new Parliament of India sets a benchmark in infrastructure safety. With state-of-the-art measures and cutting-edge technology, it prioritizes the well-being of our lawmakers and visitors.#MyParliamentMyPride#NewParliamentBuilding#NewParliament

    — MyGovIndia (@mygovindia) May 27, 2023

  • Larger committee rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art audio-visual systems, while meeting rooms feature graphical interfaces, biometrics, and smart displays, simplifying the voting process.
  • The building houses 92 rooms for the Council of Ministers, along with six committee rooms and a courtyard, facilitating interactions among Parliament members. Notably, it boasts a ‘Constitution Hall,’ a space that pays homage to India’s heritage.
    Photo: PTI

Members of Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha have been requested to assemble in the Central Hall of the New Parliament building at 11 AM tomorrow to commemorate the rich legacy of the Parliament and "resolve to make Bharat a developed Nation by 2047"PC Mody, Secretary-General, Rajya Sabha stated in a bulletin.


As per the bulletin, a Group photo session of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha MPs will take place on the new premises at 9:30 am.

Subscribe And Follow ABP Live On Telegram: